2010 Hafeez Karamath Journalism Fellowship Award

From left to right: Mr. Emmett Hennessy; Mr. Yashmid Ellis Karamath; Mr. Manoj Barpujari .

The Hafeez Karamath Limited Group held a small function at the Trinidad Hilton in order to honour and award Mr. Manoj Barpujari the inaugural and 2010 edition of The Hafeez Karamath Journalism Fellowship Award.

Envisioned by the late Hafeez Karamath and established under the current Executive Chairman Mr. Yashmid Karamath, the Journalism Fellowship was created in order to expand and promote the cultural ethos of Trinidad and Tobago throughout the world.

Mr. Yashmid Ellis Karamath (left) presents Mr. Manoj Barpujari with a token of recognition

The 2010 fellowship winner, Mr. Manoj Barpujari, resides in Asam India, and possesses over 25 years of experience in journalism. He presently serves as the assistant editor for the popular Assamese daily, Dainik Agradoot and is a member of FIPRESCI, the international federation of film critics. Mr. Barpujari is the past recipient of the prestigious Munin Borkotoky Literary Award.

Mr. Barpujari spent two weeks in Trinidad and Tobago where he examined the multicultural mores of Trinidad. He also visited some of the nationís historical and famous sites.